Render Parameters
This page provides information about the Render Parameters rollout in the Settings tab of the V-Ray Asset Editor.
Overview
Render Parameters rollout of the Settings tab exposes several options that control the Progressive or Bucket image samplers. You can also select an Antialiasing Filter and find a number of Optimization settings here. Note that the exposed controls vary depending on the combination of selections between CPU/GPU, Interactive/Production, and Progressive/Bucket options. Changing the Quality preset from the Render rollout sets a number of options with appropriate values for the selected preset. Generally, the Quality presets will work for a wide variety of scenes and you do not need to adjust the settings any further.
Quality
The Quality settings are only available when the Interactive Renderer is turned off. The Shading Rate option is not available when using the GPU engine.
Noise Limit – Specifies the acceptable level of noise/grain in the rendered image. The smaller the number, the higher the quality (less noisy) the image is.
Time Limit (minutes) – Specifies t he maximum render time in minutes. When this number of minutes is reached, the renderer stops. This is the render time for the whole frame; it includes any GI prepasses like light cache, irradiance map, etc. If this is 0.0, the render is not limited in time.
Bucket Size – Determines the bucket (render region division) size, measured in pixels. Buckets rendered by NVidia GPU devices are always produced with a minimum size of 32 pixels.
Min Subdivs – Determines the initial (minimum) number of samples taken for each pixel. This value rarely needs to be higher than 1, except in the case of very thin lines or fast-moving objects combined with motion blur. The actual number of samples taken is the square of this number. For instance, a value of 4 subdivisions produces 16 samples per pixel.
Max Subdivs – Determines the maximum number of samples taken for a pixel. The actual number of samples taken is the square of this number. For instance, a value of 4 subdivisions produces 16 samples per pixel. Note that V-Ray may take less than the maximum number of samples if the difference in intensity of the neighboring pixels is small enough.
Shading Rate – Controls how many rays will be used for calculating shading effects (e.g. glossy reflections, GI, area shadows, etc) instead of anti-aliasing. Higher values mean that less time is spent on anti-aliasing, and more effort is put in the sampling of shading effects.
Interactive Off and Progressive On Advanced UI
Interactive Off and Progressive Off Advanced UI
Antialiasing Filter
Antialiasing Filter – Enables or disables anti-aliasing.
Size / Type – Controls the strength of the anti-aliasing filter and the type of anti-aliasing filter to use. See the Antialiasing Filter example below.
Example: Antialiasing Filter
Here is an example briefly demonstrating the effect of different anti-aliasing filters on the final result.
Note that rendering with a particular filter is not the same as rendering without a filter and then blurring the image in a post-processing program like Adobe Photoshop. Filters are applied on a sub-pixel level, over the individual sub-pixel samples. Therefore, applying the filter at render time produces a much more accurate and subtle result than applying it as a post effect. The zoomed in images below have been zoomed in and cropped 300%.
Filtering is off.
Lanczos filter, size 2.5
Triangle filter
Sinc Filter, size 2.5
Box Filter, size 2.5
Area filter, size 2.5
Catmull-Rom
Cook Variable, size 2.5
Gaussian, size 2.5
Color Mapping
Subpixel Clamp – Specifies the clamping level for the color components.
Highlight Burn – Selectively applies exposure corrections to highlights in the image. The Highlight Burn parameter in the VFB can be used for non-destructive color edits instead.
Note that changing the value leads to render elements that can’t be composited together to produce the RGB/Beauty image. This is the reason why we recommend that the parameter is set to 1.
Optimizations
Some of the options are different when the Render Engine is set to GPU.
Adaptive Lights – Number of lights from the scene that are evaluated by V-Ray when the Adaptive Lights option is enabled. Lower values make the rendering go faster, but the result is potentially noisier. Higher values cause more lights to be computed at each hit point, thus producing less noise but increasing render times.
When enabled, V-Ray chooses at random the specified number of lights and evaluates only those for the rendering, thus speeding up render time. This option can introduce a visible degree of additional noise, but it makes it possible to render images that would otherwise take a very long time.
Max Trace Depth – Overrides globally the reflection and refraction depth (number of ray bounces/refractions). When this is disabled, the depth is controlled locally by the materials/maps. When enabled, all materials and maps use the depth specified here. If GPU is the render engine, it limits the reflection and refraction trace depth.
Opacity Depth – Controls to what depth transparent objects are traced.
Max Ray Intensity – Specifies the level to which all secondary rays are clamped.
Secondary Ray Bias – A small positive offset that is applied to all secondary rays; this can be used if you have overlapping faces in the scene to avoid the black splotches that may appear.
Blue Noise Sampling – Enables an optimization that in the general case leads to better noise distribution with fewer samples.
Embree – Enables the Intel Embree raycaster. Note: The Embree raycaster derives its speed from the usage of single-precision floating-point numbers, whereas the standard V-Ray raycaster selectively uses double precision. This lower precision of Embree may lead to artifacts in some scenes with very large extents.
Conserve Memory – Embree uses a more compact method for storing triangles, which might be slightly slower but reduces memory usage.
Источник
GPU Rendering
This page will help you configure V-Ray for GPU rendering. For help with common questions, please see the V-Ray GPU Frequently Asked Questions page.
Overview
V-Ray offers two rendering engines — V-Ray and V-Ray GPU.
GPU rendering allows V-Ray to perform the raytracing calculations on the GPU cards installed in the system, rather than the CPU. Since GPUs are specifically designed for massively parallel calculations, they can speed up the rendering process by an order of magnitude. V-Ray GPU uses NVidia CUDA or RTX device(s) to perform the raytracing calculations.
In addition, you can also use CUDA in combination with your CPU device. This is the so-called Hybrid rendering – when CUDA performs raytracing calculations with the CPU, or simultaneously with both the CPU and GPU devices of your computer.
V-Ray GPU supports a variety of features and even more features are added with time.
The supported features of V-Ray GPU running on CUDA and RTX are the same.
Although CUDA and RTX share the same user interface as the V-Ray engine, V-Ray GPU differs from the regular V-Ray engine in the way it performs certain calculations. Comparing the results will never come to a one-to-one match, although it may look quite close. Furthermore, it is not the goal for them to be the same.
This is why, it is strongly recommended to not switch between engines in the middle of your project — if you start setting up a scene with the regular V-Ray engine, use it for the entire project. The render settings will only show the available options and your scene will be optimized for GPU rendering.
V-Ray GPU can be used as a production render or in interactive mode to quickly preview scene changes. It also supports both the Progressive and Bucket Image Samplers.
To enable GPU rendering, from V-Ray Asset Editor → Settings tab → Render rollout, select CUDA or RTX engine. You can use it with both Progressive and Bucket Sampler types.
Источник
V-Ray Batch Render
This page describes the use of Batch Rendering and Cloud Batch Rendering in V-Ray for SketchUp.
Overview
The V-Ray Batch Render tool is useful when multiple scenes need to be rendered with different rendering views or objects that may change between scenes. With Batch Render, scenes can be set with tabs and rendered with one button.
Additionally, you can use Batch Rendering in the Cloud.
UI Paths
||V-Ray Toolbar|| > Batch Render
(Note: the icon is grey until multiple scene tabs are created.)
||V-Ray Toolbar|| > Cloud Batch Render
(Note: the icon is grey until multiple scene tabs are created.)
Extensions > V-Ray > V-Ray Rendering > Batch Render
Extensions > V-Ray > V-Ray Rendering > Chaos Cloud Batch Render
Submitting a batch of render jobs to Chaos Cloud is currently not available. Use the ‘Render in Cloud‘ button from the Asset Editor to submit individual jobs instead.
Using the Batch Render
In order for Batch Render to become active, several SketchUp Scene tabs must be created. A new Scene can be created from View > Animation > Add Scene.
After adding a Scene in SketchUp, the Batch Render icon becomes active. By default, the location of the Batch Render outputs is set from Asset Editor > Output > File Path. If you have not set the File Path, a prompt asking for location for the outputs of the Batch Render appears.
Select OK, and after choosing the output path the renders will begin.
The following examples were created by assigning the footstool to its own layer. This layer was hidden for Scene 2.
Scene 1: Footstool layer visible
Scene 2: Footstool layer hidden
Excluding Scenes from Batch Rendering
You can disable certain scenes from Batch Rendering by the SketchUp’s Scenes tray menu.
Disabling the Include in animation option will omit the selected scene(s) from being batch rendered.
An excluded scene can be identified by the brackets surrounding its label.
Источник
Render Elements
This section contains information on the Render Elements found in V-Ray for SketchUp.
Overview
Render Elements are a way to break out renders into their component parts such as diffuse color, reflections, shadows, mattes, etc. This gives fine tune control in the final image using compositing or image editing applications when re-assembling the final image from its component elements. Render elements are also sometimes known as render passes.
Render Elements are generated at render time based on the ones you choose before rendering. Most render elements have parameters that can be set to customize the render element or its later use in compositing software. These parameters are described on each render element’s individual page, along with common uses and any notes on their generation and usage.
For a complete list of render elements supported in SketchUp, see the Supported Render Elements page.
The creation of render elements is available from two places in the Asset Editor: from the Create Asset button and the Render Elements category icon (top). If the Render Elements category is empty, left- or right-clicking the icon prompts you to create a new asset. Otherwise, it selects the category in which case right-click opens the creation menu.
The Asset creation dropdown lists remain active when the Ctrl (Cmd on Mac OS) key is held, allowing the creation of multiple assets in quick succession. The Asset creation dropdown lists can be activated via the Create Asset button or the Asset Category icons.
||V-Ray Asset Editor|| > Create Asset > Render Elements
||V-Ray Asset Editor|| > Render Elements (right click to add Render Elements)
Источник